Receiving more cards than you send

This is certainly not a complaint. I’m fairly new to Postcrossing and I always assumed you send a card, the recipient registers it and your name is then given to another member, who writes to you. Therefore for each card you post, you get one back.

My sent/received figures were balanced at 24/24 but yesterday a whopping SIX cards arrived simultaneously. I have now received 30 but only 24 registered as sent. Quite an imbalance.

Does the algorithm sometimes permit you to receive “extra” cards? Perhaps there has been an influx of new members and they need addresses to write to? If so, I would have assumed any slack would have been spread throughout the membership.

But like I said - I ain’t complaining.

40 Likes

It fluctuates with me, currently I have about 3 more sent than received, but I also often have more received than sent. I don’t know why tho, but like you, I’m not complaining haha

11 Likes

This is from Postcrossing FAQ
Why have I received more postcards than I have sent?

The algorithm for selecting addresses is complex and there are instances when your address will be selected a bit more often than you expect. Count it as an early bonus — your sent/received numbers will even out in the long run

So, yes, it happens, but the numbers catch up soon :wink:

17 Likes

As far as I’ve understood, there’s some reasons why we get extra postcards:

1. Lack of addresses in the pool to maintain send-1-receive-1. Then someone has to get extra postcards to avoid the message “sorry, you can’t send more postcards because there’s no available addresses”.
  2. Postcrossing tries to give a diversity of countries to everyone (if repeated countries isn’t selected). If someone has many cards travelling to the most common countries, they will get an address in a less common country.

If one is lucky enough to live in a country that isn’t among the top most active countries, one is likely to get too many cards sometimes.

15 Likes