How to tweak your profile description

Dear all,

There are so many discussions about profiles, does, don’ts, wishlist, biographies, demands. I thought I bring my 5 cents [or 5 kopeek? or 5 rubles?:thinking:] to the topic.

I edit my profile quite a lot, tweaking really little things to make it more inviting and less demanding/intimidating, and still receive more surprise postcards of the themes I like [or might unknowingly like]. As I saw from discussions here, postcrossers have a whole spectrum of opinions about profiles/wishes/biographies, and I would like my profile to be universally accepted as “easy to choose postcard for” both from a person who wants to see my detailed personality description and from a person who thinks I’m a random stranger and wants to pick postcard fitting my wishlist/collections with ease.
On a sidenote: I described two like that a bit on purpose. When I was a newbie I felt that most postcrossers are “from Jedi or Siths” [more interested in people or more interested in postcards]. Now I think it’s not that simple, don’t be offended! :crazy_face:

While reading about behavioral and social psychology as a hobby, it’s entertaining to see some dependencies and causations in what you put in your profile and what you receive right after.

So here are some of my observations:

1. Putting antiwish list or any “don’t” in your profile increases the probability to receive an unwanted type of postcard.

2. Putting the source of where to get postcard increases probability of receiving a “smash hit” surprise postcard.
    [for me putting “postcard from any museum” brought in 2 month more anthropology related postcard than in 2 years before, same for adding publishing house, which prints weird postcards, instead or just generic “weird and ugly” preference]

I have more less formulated ‘rules’, but maybe anyone has noticed similar things?
Do you ever reflect on what phrases and formulations on profiles make you relate to them more or put you off?