What Do You Say On Your Postcards?

I’m just very curious as to what everyone says on their postcards. Do you introduce yourself and talk about where you live? Or are you more into recipes, song lyrics, etc? I’m just getting started and I mainly do an intro, but I’m very curious as to what everyone does. I’m wondering how you decide what you will say. Do you write your postcard as if you’re responding to their profile? I love unique ideas. Thanks!

16 Likes

Check this monthly writing prompts when you need idea on what to write on your cards

5 Likes

Well, welcome to Postcrossing! I might do any of those things, depending on the mood and how much the person has written about themselves and if you feel a connection or not. If there’s something worth explaining about the card I chose for them, I might do that. If I have something in common with them, I might talk about that. If they want book recs or whatever, that’s probably where I will go. Sometimes people share almost nothing in their profiles - sadly! - so for them I will write whatever I feel like, which might be pretty minimal.

You will soon get your rhythm. There are no rule books here, but it’s always nice to see if you can make a nice connection.

19 Likes

If they have questions or tips on their profile, I follow that. If not, I like to write about where I live, my favorite food, things we have in common and things that come to mind.

5 Likes

I keep a list of trivia items about my town (i.e. city “firsts or facts”), and rotate those. Depending on how much room, I may respond to something in their profile, OR use the monthly writing prompt, OR share a favorite quote or saying. If their birthday is in the future, and I think they may receive the card around the date, I may mention that (or say, e.g., Happy Birthday on the #st of February!).

10 Likes