What do you coat handmade postcards in to protect the design?

I’m brand new to handmade postcards. Mine have marker doodles and stickers on them that I don’t want to fall off. Do you suggest modmodge? What do you use?

2 Likes

I do some collage cards myself and it’s not the super prettiest solution because it makes your card glossy, but it totally works fine and doesn’t mess with the design: I put some clear tape for my handmade cards :slight_smile:

2 Likes

These have clear tape on them, you can’t really tell in photos :slight_smile:

33 Likes

I have used Mod Podge, and it’s ok, although somewhat thick. (Which can be good too.)
My all time favourite is this:

There are so many similar, and I have used so, so many different ones.
At the moment I have one bought from Lidl called “Decoupage medium” and as much as I like how thin it is, the jar is awful. It gets stuck every time and the opening is too large. I have had UHU type, which never dried and stayed sticky forever, but these traveled well anyways. That was the worst I have tried.

I prefer some kind of varnish over tape, because if the tape is not as wide as postcard, there is “lines” where is a new row of tape. And some tapes absorb the colours to itself, so the image becomes looking like it bleeds/spreads. (Same with plastic sheets used to cover a book). (I think this is problem only with colours and pens/pencils, not magasine images).

In school we used watered down Eri Keeper, and I still do it, if I don’t have ready to use medium.

But, I like also cards sent as such, with no coating. Normally mail is kept in dry place, so there is no need to overly protect it. (But for some reason I still do.)

Edit. I used to have plastic made for protecting maps and drawings, and that was perfect. It’s matte, thin, doesn’t distort the colours, but it was also pricy. It was made by PelloPlast, but I think other manufacturers make it as well.

3 Likes