How to foster a sense of connection at Postcrossing?

Hi. I’m really new to Postcrossing. I’ve learned that people have a variety of reasons for being a Postcrosser. I’m here for connection. My question is, how do you foster a sense of connection, both in the cards you send and in reply to the cards you receive? Is there something in particular you do? Something you write about? What are realistic expectations to have? Thank you for any insights you can offer.

17 Likes

Helllo @resalr, welcome to postcrossing and the forum :wave:

I’ve changed the headline so that it’s immediately recognisable what you would like to discuss here.

Here are some of the topics that might be of interest to you:

3 Likes

Firstly, welcome to you @resalr.

I think that the topics that @bille recommended include some useful discussions, but also containg a lot of grumbles that can be discouraging. Please don’t be put off Postcrossing.

Bearing in mind that people join Postcrossing for a wide range of reasons, I consider the connection like a “bus stop” conversation with a stranger.
My expectations are low key.
I read the person’s profile, try to write something neutral in tone that they might respond to, and am not disappointed if their response is a brief thank-you or nothing at all.
I try to send cards that I believe people will like ( from their profile) but also ones that I like, where I know I can write something more about the image or myself that the recipient might enjoy.

In a thank-you, I try to answer a question, if one was written on the card I received, or say something more about the card if I possibly can.

I once did a bit of an experiment smiling at everyone I passed on my walk to work. It’s amazing how many people smiled back, and eventually started spontaneously smiling. The world felt a nicer place! Maybe Postcrossing is a bit like that experiment, trying to send smiles around the globe.