USA Air Mail?

I’m brand new to Postcrossing and international mail, as you can tell…haha. I’ve already sent out quite a few postcards to various countries; however I was just on the USPS site, and they state you must write ‘Air Mail’ on your mail. Well, I definitely did not do that for all of the postcards that already went out. Does anyone know what issues that will cause, if any?

Thanks!
Paige

1 Like

I’ve never done it and it seems the cards get delivered. Someone at the USPS might rubber stamp it AIR MAIL for all I know.

1 Like

That’s what I was hoping/assuming but I figured I’d see what other people say! I did just read on Wikipedia that the US only uses airmail for international anyway sooo… :woman_shrugging:t2:

1 Like

A couple years ago, my local post office would give me airmail stickers whenever I bought stamps from the counter but they don’t have them any more which makes me think that functionally, the stickers are superfluous even though the rule is still on the books.

1 Like

That sounds right from the Googling I have been doing, thank you. I just panicked for a minute there haha

My cards that make it out of the country don’t get AIR MAIL stamped on it and I stopped writing it years ago. They don’t even make air mail labels anymore. I think since most of the mail goes to the Processing and Distribution Centers, I don’t think the AIR MAIL stamp matters.

I think that AIR MAIL stamp depends on the post office.

When I was in Downtown Honolulu, I went to that post office station to request a hand cancel from the station for a postcard with a picture of Downtown Honolulu. I had used ALL 5 very rare and very expensive to obtain Aloha Shirt stamps on the card. I had wanted to create a philatelic souvenir for a friend who is a philatelist.