"I'm not an artist!" šŸ˜© (Yes, you are)

Forum friends, when browsing all the beautiful mail art you post, it pains me to see comments such as:

ā€“ā€œI donā€™t have that kind of talent.ā€
ā€“"Iā€™ll never be as good as [insert name here]."
ā€“"Iā€™ll leave mail art to the real artists."

I am not a professional artist, nor do I have a fine arts degree, but I have taken enough art classes to assume brazenly that I know what Iā€™m talking about, so I am here to tell you: all of you self-proclaimed ā€œnon-artistsā€ are underestimating yourselves, and it must be stopped!

Of course, perhaps you just donā€™t want to make mail art, and thatā€™s okay. It can be time consuming, and you must take care of yourselves first. And maybe you have other interests. But as for those of you who do want to make mail art, I donā€™t want to hear another word about how you ā€œcanā€™t make art.ā€ Not everyone is destined to be a great artist, but that does not mean that you cannot make great art. :triumph:

ā€œArt is what you can get away with,ā€ said Warhol, who painted soup cans and bananas. He was right.

I propose we compile ideas and inspiration here that will convince aspiring mail artists that they can, in fact, make mail art. Maybe there is a medium that requires no prerequisite skill. Maybe you have a few ā€œsecretā€ tips and tricks for making a good composition. Put them here!

To get started, here is a picture that makes me laugh:

blowfish

The style? Primitive. The creator? Jon-Michael Frank, who has had his absurd and nihilistic cartoons featured in national publications in the US. He is a professional artist, and although you can safely say that this is not a photo-realistic portrayal of a blowfish, I doubt you can say it doesnā€™t make you smile just a little. If I received a similar image on a postcard, it would be an instant favorite.