Bookmarks are shortcuts that you use to save posts, topics or private messages, so that they’re easy to find again later. To create a new Bookmark, select the below any post or message and use the symbol .
Optionally, you can choose to set a timer on that bookmark, to receive a notification about it later. This is handy if you’d like to be reminded of a topic on a certain date/time.
A bookmark with an active reminder attached to it will show a little clock.
You can easily reach your bookmarks using the button on the top of the forum.
Note that if you’re inside a section of the forum, the bookmarks shown will be the ones pertaining to that section — for instance, if you’re inside the Meetups part of the forum, you’ll only see the bookmarks you’ve made in that category. Likewise, your bookmarked private messages won’t be shown in this page.
To be taken to the page where you can see all your bookmarks (including bookmarked messages) and manage them, click twice on the bookmark symbol, on your personal menu.
This will bring you to the page on your profile where all your bookmarks are listed, and you can easily remove or set new timers for them here.
By default, you won’t receive notifications about posts on the forum unless someone interacts with you directly (eg. by sending you a message or mentioning your @username).
But sometimes, a particular discussion might be super interesting or you really want to keep an eye on things within a specific category. In that case, notifications are here to help! Here’s what they look like:
To change your notification levels on any topic, post, message or even category, search for the little bell in the page and choose the option that fits your preferences.
This setting is the old-forum equivalent of Subscribing to a topic.
Watching is the highest level of notifications: you’ll receive a notification for every new post on this topic or category, and a count of new replies will be shown next to the topic (as well as on the Unread page). You can see a list of the topics you’re currently Watching on the hamburger menu above.
By default, you’ll also receive an email about these new posts, if you were away when they happened. This setting is configurable in your Email Preferences.
Tracking is the old-forum equivalent of adding a topic to your Favorites.
This level of notifications are one level below Watching: you will still see a count of new replies next to the topic (and they’ll appear on the Unread page), but you won’t receive a notification for them unless someone mentions you or replies to you directly. As with the Watching, you’ll find a link to the topics you’re currently Tracking on the menu above.
If you’re not interested in a topic or category at all, you can choose to mute them. These topics will disappear from your Latest page, and if you mute a whole category, you will not see a link to it in the frontpage — it will effectively disappear from your view. This can be useful for muting languages that you don’t speak, or categories that are too noisy.
Note that when you mute a category, you will still be notified if someone @mentions you in topics within that cateogry. However, if you mute a topic, you won’t receive any notifications about it, not even if someone @mentions you.
Still got questions about bookmarks or notifications? Please do ask them below. I’m watching this topic and will try to keep it as updated as possible.