Custom made cards, acceptable?

Hello everyone,

Please forgive me if I have posted this in the wrong area, if I have, can you let me know where it should be?

I’m new to Postcrossing and this forum having found out about it from a friend.

I have a question about custom made cards and if they are acceptable or not.

The reason I ask is I cannot find any cards from my town only the city 11km away. I have some nice photos of the very local area and I’ve found a company that will print them at a reasonable cost including the “traditional” back.

Is that an acceptable thing to send on here or should they be the standard mass produced type as sold in tourist shops and post offices.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Grumpy_Milky

19 Likes

Does it look like a postcard and travel like a postcard? If yes, then it is a postcard and it’s fine.

25 Likes

Welcome to Postcrossing!
According to the rules, all post cards are allowed, including self-made ones.
Some users don’t like self-made cards, I guess it is mainly because of the huge variance in quality (both of the material and of the design). I don’t know your cards so I don’t know whether people will like them :wink:
You are not required to send cards that people like, so you can send them anyway.
My advise would be, to maybe buy some non-view cards in addition to your self-designed, so you can choose based on the profile. Of course you are free to ignore that advise :smiley:

5 Likes

There are some mixed feelings on this but generally if they are professionally printed and look nice (and are high quality image on high quality paper, thick etc) then they should be acceptable.
There are some serious collectors that do not like these but the vast majority of postcrossers would be happy with then I think (as long as it is a good photo on good paper, professional printing job).

3 Likes