Can someone tell me what UNESCO cards are?

:arrow_up::arrow_up::arrow_up:

1 Like

These are cards showing sites which were Annoncen by UNESCO as World Heritage sites. Here is a list if all world Heringe sites.

Some people also only accept cards on which it is clearly stated that they Show a UNESCO WHS

is there a topic in the Forum for help others with their collection of UNESCO sites cards?
I cannot find it!

There’s a thread here, although it’s not too busy yet.

If you’re looking for swaps, they are now just in with all the other trade requests.

https://community.postcrossing.com/c/trades-requests-offers/postcards/32

1 Like

What does Unesco mean? I send a postcard to Finland, which they received today and she comment Thank you for the beautiful Unesco card? I’m still new to the terms?

3 Likes

United Nations Educational, Scientific & Cultural Organization (UNESCO) designates world heritage sites & people collect postcards of these sites as part of Postcrossing - most countries have these sites.

There are tags, round robins, direct swaps, lotteries & all manner of threads on UNESCO cards on the Forum if you put UNESCO into the search function.

Many Postcrossers have their own country’s UNESCO sites as postcards for trades or to send as official cards.

6 Likes

Thank you so much, I didn’t realise. There’s a lot I have to learn.

7 Likes

That’s the beauty of Postcrossing - so much cool stuff to learn! - Enjoy!

10 Likes

True! For example, I just learned that horses can live for many, many years due to your profile. :smile:

Anyway, nothing else to add, just thought it was funny. :smile:

3 Likes

Looks like you sent a card of Giant’s Causeway. That is indeed a UNESCO site. And some cards of UNESCO sites actually say they are UNESCO sites, but these places are often beautiful or amazing in some way so the sites can be popular tourist cards for other reasons as well. And don’t say anything about UNESCO on them.

1 Like