What was it like to receive your first postcard?

Hello everyone ! :wave:

I started the postcrossing journey this month and sent a few postcards so far.
While some have arrived at their destination, others are still in transit.

I haven’t received any postcards yet but I can’t wait to see the first one in my mailbox ! :mailbox_with_mail:

I would like to know your experience when you received your first postcard.
What was it like ? How did you feel when you saw it in your mailbox ?

9 Likes

It was magical. My first postcard was from Paris, which is one of my favorite places. I took it as a sign that I did the right thing signing up for Postcrossing!

13 Likes

Hi Kodjo, nice to meet you. I am pretty new to this, too, about 2 months now. Actually, I was on pins and needles waiting for my card. I was checking the mail multiple times a day. If there was a tracker for my mail carrier, I would have used it!

When I sent my first card, I was not completely sure what to do so I just wrote a nice message and sent it on using three Forever stamps (I didn’t even know international stamps existed). :laughing: When I received my first card, I was stunned by the beautiful decorations and realized that decorations are a part of the PC culture. Now, I’m buying stickers and washi with the best of them.

I learn more with each card I receive on how to be a better postcard friend and make my cards more entertaining.

12 Likes

Wow that’s so good to know! What are the odds !
That must have really brightened up your day :blush:

1 Like

Haha i really understand you about checking the mail multiple times a day :joy:
It’s so amazing to see people put a lot of effort crafting a postcard !
I noticed that i tend to repeat myself in the postcards that i write so i’ll try to write more personalized messages
Thanks for sharing your experience !

1 Like

It did brighten my day!

1 Like

My first one arrived just now - was almost in shock!

10 Likes