Update to: Request address -> counter starts travel time date

Hey everybody!
I’m quite new to Postcrossing, getting new and new exciting experiences. :slight_smile:

One topic was conspicuous and maybe there is a possibility to improve this:
As soon as you click on the “request address” button, it shows the postcard has been sent which cannnot duly true every time.
Possible story: You’re requesting an address on saturday, but could only send on monday because it is the next postal collection. (But I want to write them today)

So it is too easy to falsify the statistic.
OK, only 2 days you say… but I don’t know how a low amount of other users handle this. Sometimes I see 200+ days transit time that makes me think the postcard has been potentially sent out much later than the request day.

Furthermore the postcrossing-system knows there is definitively one on its way.

I couldn’t find any common Topic so far, forgive me if it’s a double post.

What do you think about this?
Thanks for your opinions :slight_smile:

Michael

1 Like

I think it is pretty common to be one day behind (or two if a weekend). Most people aren’t that concerned if it takes 13 days instead of 11, for example. For me, having the clock start ticking is a spur to write it and walk it to the mailbox - I can always use the reminder to go for a walk!

If you had to go onto the website twice - once to get the card assignment and a second time to register that you sent the postcard, some people would forget, or never do the second bit of work, or get around to it much later. So it’s a bit more work with at least three times the potential for messing up the statistics. Overall I say simple is better.

Nonetheless, welcome to Postcrossing! And keep thinking of ways to improve the experience for everyone else - you may come up with something really great!

19 Likes

I thought somebody would request an address but then forget to send out the postcard today/tomorrow. (maybe it is only a very small %…)