Unclear handwritten ID numbers

Unclear handwritten ID numbers can be a problem to read/interpret. So far I’ve seen and puzzled over:

• A triangle with no base, which turned out to be a 1;
  • A square with no top, which turned out to be a 4;
  • A circle with a slanting line through it, which I thought was a 0 but turned out to be an 8;
  • A missing digit;
  • And a legible number with no country-ID prefix.

How about you? :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

I often get this one :smile:

1 Like

Once the numbers were correct, but the country code was wrong (but so close that I didn’t notice it at first - partly because I was a newbie and did not know them by heart), another time a couple of digits had switched places (tried different combinations a bit, but not the correct one) and twice there was no code. In all of these cases I was able to deduct who the card was from and the senders gave me the correct code. (Yes, I know one can ask for help from the team and if I was clueless, I would, but it was fun playing a detective!) Sometimes I am not sure if a number is 1 or 7 or if another is 6 or 8, but one can always try them out. It was not in postcrossing, but once I had to intepret a squiggle that looked liked a stretched S or a lighting with bends instead of sharp edges. It could have been 2 or 4, but when I asked the writer, it was number 1…

Oops, I must confess that I write like this, haha!

Those are often from the Netherlands. I was confused about them as well in the beginning.

2 Likes

Did you know that the 1 is commonly written like that in Germany? Well not a real triangle, but that might happen when writing faster and / or adapting to a personal writing style.

This is how we learn it in primary school :wink:
grafik

Before I started Postcrossing I wasn’t aware of the fact that numbers are written differently in different countries. But there are a lot of varieties around. Same as for letters (especially cursive).

9 Likes