UK expired cards rate

Question for UK based Postcrossers…

I’m fairly new to Postcrossing having joined 8 months ago. I register cards the day I receive them & request addresses & send cards as soon as PostCrossing lets me.

At present I’m at 63 Sent & 71 Received but am about to hit my 6th expired card, so almost a 10% expiry rate on cards I send. Just wondered if this is the norm for UK Postcrossers? (My expired ones are to Russia(2), Malaysia, Belarus, Indonesia & France)

I know we’ve had our postal strikes & there’s problems in some countries but our postal service seems to be a bit hit & miss. Sometimes I’ll go weeks with nothing received & then I get loads… I recently received 15 cards within 6 days!

4 Likes

Welcome Ken
Sadly what you are seeing appears to be the new normal.
The IT attack issue of GB postal service didn’t help
Russia & Belarus 3 of your 6 may still arrive. They go via Finland or Turkey since the invasion as no longer a direct route.
Your card to France should have arrived in 2/3 weeks. Its worth checking if they are active and if so resending.
Your last 2 locations have been known to be slow too so patience may yet be rewarded.
It appears to be normal for our address to be given out in batches.
For involvement inbetween I and many use the forum. Groups such as the British Isles RR or Many Themes . You would be most welcome
Good Luck

4 Likes

Hi @Ken2510
In the last 12 months i sent 144 cards, and have 10 expired (Russia, Belarus, USA and France). A couple of people may have given up, looking at their login, but they were active at the time the card should have arrived. My sense is thst this is normal and we have to factor in 10% losses.