Sending A Disliked Card

What would you do if you sent a card that you thought the postcrosser would like…only to find out in the later part of the profile writeup that he/she doesn’t?

I have been sending postcards for 6 years and have just picked a profile that had quite a list of likes and dislikes. I have no issues with that.

The thing was, I read the profile too quickly (my bad.) and settled with a maxicard which I had designed and had them professionally printed. I also send the same maxicard to my colleagues and relatives and friends to wish them a happy Year of the Ox.

The user is very fond of maxicards (It’s on the favourite list of card themes) but is not okay with animals, flowers and handmade/self-printed ones. My maxicard happened to fulfil all three - although I personally would not classify my card as a self-print. I only found out about the massive disdain for those postcard themes after I wrote the postcrosser’s address and ID on the postcard.

I am going to send the card anyway, since the address and ID are already on the card. I did write an apology and I offered to send her one more card if the postcard irked her.

I know that in Postcrossing, we should all take joy in sending and receiving cards; that we should love all cards that arrive safely in our mailbox, as long as it is of acceptable card stock. I also am aware that everyone has different motivations in starting their Postcrossing journey. And yes, I do know that a person’s likes and dislikes should just be regarded as guidelines and you do not have to follow them to the T.

Yet, I cannot help myself but feel really apologetic that I was not able to align my sent card to her preferred list.

What would you do if you were in the same situation as me?

7 Likes