Seeking your advice on mail disinfection

This is my first time creating a topic of this type, so maybe my divisions are wrong, and the tone may be blunt, hope you understand

Omicron was detected in international mail in China.While I know the point of spreading the word by mail sounds unscientific, I was wondering what you think about sanitizing your mail yourself.

If you’re really concerned about it you can always buy an ultraviolet sanitizer or leave it outside in the sunlight.

The virus needs a person as a host and doesn’t live long outside the host. Just leave your mail in a bag overnight and your chance of infection is pretty much gone. On the other hand, wear a mask when you talk to your mail carrier!

9 Likes

I don’t think mail disinfection is needed. (I find this story of transmission through mail highly unlikely.) Tests and research I have seen showed it is nearly impossible to transmit that way. If you are worried then let the mail isolate for three or so days and the virus should not survive hours on surfaces (certainly not days). It cannot survive on surfaces for long. It needs a host to live.

10 Likes

I’ve watched an interview with a Brazilian scientist who said something very similar to what @Susaninutah explained here. He said 15 min of direct exposure to sunlight should be enough to inactivate most of the virus on surfaces.

You can find more about it here:

4 Likes

I can understand your concern, but I have to tell you that story was dismissed by most scientists in North America & Europe.

Fomite transmission (transmission from surfaces, including packages/letters) is rare.

And as others have said, leaving your mail to sit for a few days is a good solution if you’re concerned as well as washing your hands after handling it.

And if this changed at some point in the future & was proven to be widespread, then I’m sure the mail delivery would be halted.

4 Likes