? Receiving doubles!

Hi, I’m new to this so I am sorry if I am repeating a topic. I was wondering if anyone has received the same card twice , or more ,or if the same person has been selected for you to sent a card to. Just curious,

3 Likes

Yes, several times - twice and more :wink: But I’m very active in the forum. So not sure if I have received duplicates on the official part only. The more you got, the higher the chance you received the same card again. People won’t look through your complete wall (which I can fully understand)

This is only possible if the person has more than one account.

5 Likes

I have received one card 3 times! But I don’ think I’ve received other dublicates at all.

It doesn’t bother me because the message, backside and the sender is always different.

14 Likes

Thank you.

With over 1,400 received, I can count my received duplicates with the fingers of one hand. As mentioned, the sender and the story of a card, even a duplicate is always different.

Also it can happen that two senders just happen to the same card without knowledge of each other. I have received the same card from Russia with the interval of two weeks: taking into account travel times from Russia and according to the sending dates, the sender had no possibility to know they are sending the same card to me. That’s why I find it a bit odd some postcrossers explicitly forbid duplicates in their profiles: it’s something you can not necessarily controll.

14 Likes

I’ve received this Marilyn card Marilyn 7ans de réflexion | Saint @ Postcrossing | Flickr 10 times and this marilyn_sepia | Saint @ Postcrossing | Flickr 12 times! :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: And doubles, triples or more of many other cards.

5 Likes

That’s funny! Now I feel like sending you another one of those if I had it! :joy:

9 Likes

I think it’s easier to get doubles if there’s a specific theme or person maybe?