Questions regarding to USPS

is there any limitation of the size of international ordinary letter?

2 Likes

Yep.

Recap: First-Class Mail Letters.

2 Likes

This handy chart shows the dimensions of a “standard” size letter and postcard:

https://pe.usps.com/text/qsg300/q201.htm

I’m new to sending postcards and picked up some US postcard stamps today. However I have realized that international mail costs $1.45 and using three $.48 stamps only totals $1.44. Do I need to buy international stamps or should I not worry about the one cent? It seems a waste to use a fourth stamp to make up the one cent difference.

The cards you sent will probably make it. You can get an one cent stamp to add on to the cards.

6 Likes

Thank you, that’s good to hear!

1 Like

Just an FYI - it’s going up to $1.50 in July

1 Like

Fun fact: US sorting machines can only tell if there is a tagged stamp, not its value. All stamps 10¢ and above are tagged. So you can send a letter with just a 10¢ stamp (or a large postcard with the regular sized postcard rate), and 90% of the time it’ll go through. Only when the underpaying happens to be caught by a postal clerk will it be returned or held at the post office until the recipient pays the postage due.

Also there have been threads where senders have just stuck a forever stamp for international mail and it’s gone through, so you should be fine :grinning:

1 Like

I’ve been tempted to flag/delete one or two of these posts, but have decided not to in order to address an issue here. The spirit of Postcrossing is to make connections through the simple and kind act of sending a postcard, and not to cheat your country’s postal system because you’ve discovered you can often get away with it. The Postcrossing Community Guidelines state “Write the address and the Postcard ID clearly and exactly as they are given to you by Postcrossing, and always include correct postage.”

23 Likes