Postcards exchange with Japanese students

Hello! I’m an English teacher in Japan and hoping to set up a one-time exchange for my students (age 12-14).

Here’s a little outline to help you understand the flow:

1. Recruit PC Forum participants
  2. Exchange address with PC Forum participants
  3. PC Forum participants send out postcards (best before March)
  4. Teacher (me) acknowledge the receipt of postcards (First week of March)
  5. Students read their postcards
  6. Students write their responses (March 10 & 11)
  7. Students send out their postcards (March 12)
  8. (Optional) PC Forum participants acknowledge receipt of postcards

Their lesson for writing the response postcard is scheduled for March 10th-11th and postcards will most likely be sent out the following day.

The students level are very low. They can understand simple sentences and have only studied present tense and present continuous tense. The goal is give them a taste of the international community. I don’t want you to worry too much about the grammar but I want the student to feel encouraged and gain confidence because they were able to understand your card without my help.

You will not be writing to a specific student but to a group of students. There 5 classes in total and each class will be divided into 6 groups. You will receive a response from the group you sent a card to.

You may send to multiple group if you wish :blush:

I’m hoping to receive the cards by the first week of March so the students have time to prepare.

Thank you very much for your interest!
I hope you will participate!

9 Likes

Cool idea, but I just wanted to say given the pandemic & that today is Feb 17th - I think you’ re underestimating the time it will take for postcards to get to Japan.

I’ve found it takes about 2 to 4 weeks at least in the last few months to & from Canada with Japan.

I’d be happy to write to a group. Shall I send my address to you by message? Thanks, Lynn

1 Like