Is there a way how to prevent the picture of the card you sent showing on your profile (wall)?

Hi there!

I’m fairly new to Postcrossing, so I thought to ask. :blush: There are some cards I’m about to send that I wouldn’t like to have featured on my wall. (i.e. topics that someone else prefers, but I don’t like them that much personally) So I wonder if there’s some way how to prevent those from being added to my profile? I thought about simply not uploading the picture, however, couldn’t the person that received the card simply bypass this by uploading the picture of the card on their own?

Many thanks for possible replies!

You don’t have to put them in postcrossing. usually people don’t upload the pictures that I’ve noticed in the past. Sometimes it’s too much work for them I’ve even had people delete the pictures of the ones I uploaded. But if they do upload the picture you can ask them to take it down when they write you to thank you. but if they really like the picture and they don’t want to take it down then there’s no way of getting it off your page.

1 Like

There is: Do not send those cards.
You cannot command the addressee to not upload the pictures.

19 Likes

Thanks for you reply but someone mentioned they want somewhat racy card. No other wishes, so I guess I have to send it. However, I’m not absolutely sure I want to have those featured on my profile, thus the question.

Thanks, this helps a lot and it’s good to know! :heart:

1 Like

Not true. They are wishes and they don’t need to be followed. That’s not the point of postcrossing - I don’t have such cards so I wouldn’t go out of the way to obtain one, I’d just send what I have.

I always upload the pictures of everything I send and receive (if not uploaded by the sender already), so I wouldn’t know that the sender wouldn’t want it uploaded, I just do it because I like a complete wall.

14 Likes