I need suggestions for places to visit in England! (and to buy post cards)

Hello! I hope this is the right way to post- I’m still quite new to the forum.

I am an American who will be studying abroad in England this summer and would love suggestions on places to visit, be they museums, places of cultural importance, etc. I would especially love if I could pick up some cool postcards while I’m there. I’d also love suggestions on cool shops to check out!

I will be studying in Oxford and will definitely be traveling to London, so I would appreciate suggestions there, but I will consider visiting other locations if people think I should.

I am excited to check out travel mode and send some cards during my stay! This is my first time ever going abroad. :slight_smile:

6 Likes

The postal museum looks really cute :mailbox_with_mail:

2 Likes

In London the best places for postcards are museums and attractions.
National Gallery
Victoria and Albert or V&A
Tower of London
British Museum
You will find odd stationery shops with more general touristy themes but they aren’t common

2 Likes

As I often say to the study abroad students I work with: there’s more to the UK than London! All of these places should have postcards available:

• Head to Bath, for world heritage Georgian architecture and the Roman Baths, and a Postal Museum
  • Manchester has several museums and galleries (Manchester Museum, Art Gallery, National Football Museum, Whitworth Gallery, Library), as well as tourist viewcards available from convenience stores in the city centre.
  • Liverpool has the Museum of Liverpool, World Museum, Walker Art Gallery, and of course a lot of Beatles ephemera.
  • Birmingham: alas the Museum and Art Gallery there is closed until sometime in 2024, but still visit for the canals and to see the settings which inspired Peaky Blinders.