Gender imbalance in user accounts?

I am just new to Postcrossing but a quick glance through the forum might lead to the impression that there is a gender imbalance. Is this just a guess of me or is it a fact?
Does someone have statistics on that - os has found out the reason?

Thanks,
Stefan

Gender imbalance which way? Too many women? Too many men? How would anyone know, some people prefer to keep such things private because to them, they’re not important. :puzzled:

10 Likes

There are more women who are Postcrossers if you look at the stats - I’m sure all kinds of books or PhD theses could be written as to the why.
https://www.postcrossing.com/stats/users

26 Likes

Cushty…

I’m off to live in the South Sudan as well, lol no members there currently and no postcards sent, be great to be first… lol Thanks @LC-Canada for the link in your post. :slight_smile:

9 Likes

To be honest, I think any imbalance is probably an underlying societal issue as to what people consider acceptable or not acceptable for certain genders to do. Whatever statistics Postcrossing has on that is merely a symptom of that issue and not anything that Postcrossing (or even the postcard hobby itself) has really done.

29 Likes

When you look through a lot of profiles you may find there are other interesting gender imbalances, too. For example, Postcrossers who list an interest in railroad trains are most often male. :smiley:

But, welcome to Postcrossing! There is a whole world of interests and adventure here. And if you are lucky, someone may send you beautiful train stamps…

33 Likes

I joked to my ex that I’ve been writing to college girls, mothers, and grandmas. She remarked: “Of course. They’re bored in their homes. And women enjoy writing more than men. Don’t you notice there are more women novelists today than male?”

11 Likes

I loathe that stereotype that men can’t enjoy letter writing in the modern world.

55 Likes