Do you purchase postcards based on requests?

Hello! I am relatively new to Postcrossing and I have a question for more experienced Postcrossers. When you see in someone’s bio that they’ve requested a certain image on their postcard (stills from a movie, certain animals, etc) do you go out and buy a postcard for that person or do you just see if you have one related in your pre-existing stash? I’d like to cater more to people’s preferences but I don’t know of a good place nearby to purchase postcards, and I don’t want to buy one online as it would delay the mailing of the postcard. Thanks in advance!

11 Likes

To answer your question: I only send postcards from my existing stash. (And even with a large stash I still encounter wishes I can’t fulfill!)

When I started Postcrossing, all I had were a few local postcards and a few foreign ones I bought on my travels, so I just sent whatever card I had. Two years later I am a little obsessed about buying postcards every chance I get, even designs I don’t personally prefer, because I know someday they will be the “perfect card” for a Postcrosser.

Once, though, I did delay sending a postcard until I could buy the perfect stamp for a railroad train enthusiast:

47 Likes

Hi! When I started postcrossing, I went shopping nearly after every new address I drew, cos’ I had just a few cards to start with. It didn’t take long until I learned what the most popular themes were and started buying more of those plus a few to cater to more specific wishes. Nowadays I am adding regularly to my stash and even if I can’t fulfill all the wishes, I usually have something suitable.

16 Likes

During my early five years of postcrossing, yes. It was a challenge, and I love the thrill of adventure. But now that I have a stash, I rarely do it anymore as I I think I have accumulated enough topics to send one based on their preferences.

6 Likes