Do tapes and stickers ruin postcards?

Hello everybody!
This afternoon I asked for a postcard to send and in the profile of the person to whom I’m going to send it I read that they prefer no stickers nor any kind of label/tape, because they ruin postcards within few years.
I can image it’s due to the glue… what do you think about it? Shall I start to try to remove any stickers I have in mine, as I want to preserve them?
:slightly_frowning_face:

1 Like

I’m sure it would be fine if you used acid free or archival quality stickers, labels, and tape. But I’m not an expert so I’m sure someone might be able to chime in with a more definitive answer.

2 Likes

Would depend of what they mean by within few years… I have plenty cards from 2016 with washi tapes and various sort of stickers on them, nothing ruined so far as of today. Can’t speak for older than 2016 cards though as i have none.

5 Likes

I think the postcard itself could get ruined within few years too. Some people (like me) would love to see stickers or washi tapes on the cards anyway. And if they get ruined, it’d just add to the beauty. So maybe you can save your stickers for those who mentioned their love for stickers, tapes, decorations, or mail arts in their profile. :slight_smile:

16 Likes

Depending on many factors. As I’m living in tropical climate country, stickers and deco tapes tend to deteriorate faster in quality. They can melt and dyed color onto the paper products. The glue part that melt can destroy the cards. Because it can’t be remove using easy solution like wiping with a dried clean cloth.

I experienced the problems arising from stickers and deco tapes. Especially products that made with quality not on par with Japanese made washi tapes/stickers.

When I doubt the quality of such products found on the postcards I received, I remove them myself. Meaning, taking out the decorations from these cards by carefully peeling them off.

7 Likes

Our stamps and priority labels are also stickers.