DIY goodies for pen pals by upcycling / recycling?

I love upcycling / recycling and to make little gifts for my pen pals or happy mail. Do you do that, too?

I mean why should we throw good cardboard, paper etc. away? So I always try to find a little project to make something new out of things I have. If they are not too heavy (postal charges!) and fit well into an envelope, they are perfect for me. I’m not an artist but I love to find solutions that are simple and on a budget.

For example I kept these cardboard strips from my postcard calendar. Perfect cardboard but for weeks I had no idea how to use them?

I played around a little and this is what I finally did. :smiling_face:

1 Making bookmarks by gluing them on gift wrap paper for my bookworm pen pals. :blush:

2 Or cut them in 2 halves and make little gift tags.

Would you like to share some of your ideas, too?
That would be great! :heart_eyes:

39 Likes

By the way… have you ever thought about food-package bookmarks? I really like the designs of tea boxes and maybe a tea-drinking reader might like them, too?
:smiling_face: :teapot:

It could be nice to send the matching bookmark with a tea sample to your pen pal or add it when joining in one of the tea tags in the formum, too. :grin:

25 Likes

I dry up used teabags, then i get the tea out of them and draw something on it. Then you can use it as a bookmark. I don’t have photos of the ones that i made but i have one from Pinterest here.

44 Likes

This is a nice idea!

1 Like

Today I had cut out these scales from a box- I also have a plethora of envelopes I plan to utilize for crafting soon. Another happy mail upcycle is gift bags- fold and glue/tape. Many YT videos on it! :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Great idea!

1 Like

Using old book pages/paper sraps/leftovers to make/fold

• (mini) envelopes
  • gift bags/envelopes
  • pockets (different variations)
  • match books
  • (mini) postcards/folded cards
  • (mini) note/writing/letter paper
2 Likes