Why is there a DOCUMENTED on the postcard?

I received a postcard from Australia with a seal labeled “documented” on it. I don’t know what the purpose of this seal is.

6 Likes

Did you check with your post office and with the post office in the receiving country what their policies is on stamping mail?

Wow, that really puts a blight on that card :confused:

2 Likes

Ooooh…I want to know the story behind this as well! At first I was thinking this was something the sender did for some kind of mail art (…I like the idea of doing something similar now intentionally :smiling_imp:), but was already a maxi card, so yeah, for this one it doesn’t make sense.

I am not an expert on Australia postage, but maybe something to do with that (if there was no additional postage added to the back). Seems strange either way though. Quite intriguing!

At end of the day, I still think it only adds the beauty and magic of a postcard well traveled.

1 Like

Hi, you can try asking at https://stampboards.com/

It has many members from Australia who may be able to help.

1 Like

These cards have postage pre-paid, so there will be no shortage of postage.

I’ve sent hundreds of these cards and have never heard of this happening, so I don’t think it happened at the Australian end.

Very good suggestion, there are some very knowledgeable stamp people there.

@KlausChou I’m registered there (although I almost never post), so if you’d like me to post a question, I’m happy to.

3 Likes

That would make me SO irritated! It’s a beautiful maxi card and stamp! I’m perfectly happy with normal post office marks and such, even a bit of “wear and tear,” but this one’s crazy! I hope someone can explain it.

2 Likes

Hello, please help me post questions about this postcard on this website, thank you.

1 Like

Here is the post:

https://stampboards.com/viewtopic.php?t=104674

6 Likes

Thanks @helent for following up on this mystery. :female_detective: