What questions should I ask when I interview well-known postcard artists?

Hi all - I’m a Postcrosser and journalist. I have a new blog where I interview famous postcard artists from box sets that many Postcrossers collect.

Every week, I post at least one new interview and set up an associated Forum lottery to give some of their cards away.

So far I have interviewed Inge Löök, Rachel Ignotofsky of the Women in Science/Art boxed set, and several artists from the Flower Box (Carolyn Gavin, Jen Hewett, Rose Wong).

I am working with Ana from Postcrossing to get these up on the main PC blog at some point.

I have many other interviews confirmed, and I am taking ideas for what to ask these artists.

If you look over my existing interviews you’ll get a sense of the questions I usually ask.

The artists I’m interviewing in the next couple months are:

• Louise Neumann of LouPaper
  • Bob Eckstein of the World’s Greatest Bookstores boxed set
  • Tom Gauld of the Snooty Bookshop
  • Abby Clawson Low of Color–Form–Light: 50 Postcards from This Is Mexico City
  • Chris Wormell of Welcome to the Museum: Planetarium postcards
  • Jackie Morris of The Wild Cards
  • Mimi O Chun of the Curious Feast box set
  • Petr Václavek of Acorn Elves
  • Mia Johnson of the Dog Box
  • James Quail of Post-Punk Postcards

So far I get all of my ideas for who to interview from the Postcard Set RR. At this point I am not interviewing artists from within Postcrossing, talented though they may be!! If you’re curious to know who else I’ve approached for an interview, here’s the list.

I’m doing these interviews for the PC community so I’d love for them to be a community effort. Thanks in advance for your feedback on what I should ask!

19 Likes

Thanks for your great work! :smiley::+1:

I would ask them where they get the inspiration for their card motives from.
Why they choose to use especially postcards as the medium for their works of art.
What they think of Postcrossing.