What makes a good postcard?

I’ve been post-crossing for over ten years now and often send postcards made from my own photos at moo.com. Some cards have been well-received, others not so much, so I thought it would be fun to list the topics that have been successful and to show some examples. You can read my article at

16 Likes

Thanks Arina for reading. I have taken and sent photos with pens and the like. See these ones.

GB-1340639
GB-1286526
GB-1498671

1 Like

Great question and article. I think it’s wonderful people want to share their creativity! Talents, creativity and kindness come in so many different forms and sending cards is ideal for showing skills and kindness through words and pictures (and also time, effort and cost!)

1 Like

Hi @Arina181 - As described in the forum guidelines, English is the forum language and other languages can only be used in #meetups and #communities. Could you please translate your post to English, so that everyone can understand you?!

What makes a good postcard is relative to the person receiving it. For me the combination of postcard and message is important. If you took a beautiful photo for a postcard and tell me about the place–then I will appreciate it. When I feel even just a little effort was put in with selecting a postcard it makes me feel good.
There is no one answer for “What makes a good postcard?”. What might be good for you may not be good for someone else.

7 Likes

GJG, I think you are right. I always look at the profile before I decide on the card and hope that I’ve got a match for their tastes. I also write something even if it just to say what music I’m listening to.

1 Like