Unregistered Postcards Sent

Hello all!

I’m fairly new to the Postcrossing community and I was wondering how long you all wait before you send out a follow-up postcard. I sent one to the USA which usually takes 2 weeks max in a slow time to get from here to there. But It’s coming up on 2 months and I’m starting to wonder if I should send another?

Any thoughts or suggestions?

In the past, I have sent a quick message to the person letting them know a card is on the way and asking if they’d received it. I also check the last time they logged online to make sure they’re active.

2 Likes

It is not necessary to write a replacement card. If your card expires after 60 days, the recipient’s address will go out again and he or she will receive a replacement from another person instead of your card.

I hardly ever resend (only did it twice in four years), I believe the FAQs also mention it is not necessary but ultimately up to the sender.
But most of all, I wouldn’t worry until a lot later. Mail can be unpredictable and these days even more so.

I used to send a second card after 60 days had passed and my card expired. Keeping track of that, I had less than a 50% success rate wit that registration number ever getting registered. Actually, I think it was around 37%. Checking whether or not they are active and when the last time they logged on is a good idea. Keep in mind that the recipient is not “missing” your card, as they do not know it is coming. Sending second cards gets expensive and time consuming, and Postcrossing assigns you a new number to send to after 60 days. For me, I just move on. Some cards either just don’t make it, or do make it and don’t get registered for whatever reason, Right now, during the pandemic, there are a lot of countries that have postal restrictions as well.

Here’s some perspective for you: