Types of postcard

Hello,
I am new to Postcrossing so I apologise if this topic has already been discussed.
I bought a pack of postcards to get started during lockdown and quickly realised that almost everyone has a preference for certain images (not a problem. In fact it can be very helpful) For the most part people are gracious and say that they are happy for any card if you do not have one that they may like, however I have had a few that seem to have a long list of things they don’t want. I enjoy making things so for the people who like to recieve DIY cards its been easy to tailor one to suit them. It’s been difficult for me during lockdown to find any sources of postcards in the UK that are reasonably priced and I cant just nip to a shop to find one. For example if I purchased one card online that someone had requested including postage to my house and then postage to the postcrosser I could end up spending £6 or £7 which for me is a bit expensive right now.
I feel that if I send a postcard that is on their ‘do not want’ list that they would be unhappy recieving it. This makes me feel a bit sad about doing it.
I guess I am asking for advice on what you would do in this situation. Do you know where to shop for postcards? Would you just write an apology to the person?
Thank you in advance.

5 Likes

I’m in the UK and find that postcard boxes from Amazon are reasonably priced. I’ve bought several boxes of 100 postcards where the price works out at 10-12 pence per postcard. Strangely, the same postcard boxes on eBay are much more expensive.

eBay can be a good source of old PHQ postcards (the postcards sold by Royal Mail based on their special stamps). I’ve bought several job lots of 1-200 postcards at 9 pence per card. You don’t know what you will get, but there’s always a tremendous variety to suit many people’s wishlist. And many Postcrossers love them.