Trades and Travel: Best Practices

Hi - I’m fairly new to Postcrossing and have a question about Trades/Swaps while travelling. I’ll be going to a couple of fairly obscure countries (one does not show up in the Postal Monitor, for example) and will definitely set my account to Travel Mode while there, but at best I’ll only be able to send 5 or 6 cards, assuming I’ve earned enough cards to send by then (i.e. my current sent cards arrive in time to free up some space for new ones to be sent).

As such, I’d like to set up some trades with other members in advance, partly because I know people will be interested, but also because I’m not sure how good the wifi will be when I’m there (from what I understand, it’s pretty limited and slow at the best of times).

So what I’d like to know is, is it okay to ask people in advance to set up a trade, if they are interested in cards from this country? Is it better to do a lottery?

I’d like to see what interesting cards people could swap in return, which I think is okay, and ideally they could send their cards first. However my concern is this - what if, once I’m in the country, I find that there are no postcards available and/or they don’t send mail to the countries with the people I’ve agreed to swap with? Should I offer a backup plan in case, or wait and see if people will honour the trade after they’ve received my card, or…something else?

Compared to other forums I’ve been a part of, there seems to be a lot of unspoken rules about what is and is not acceptable, and this is not an easy site to navigate since so many posts get folded into massive larger ones which makes it hard to find specific information. I just want to make sure I’m doing things the right way. Or, if it’s too complicated, to stick to Travel Mode and leave it at that.

In any event, I’d really appreciate your suggestions about the best way to go about this.

5 Likes