There is no photo of the postcard I sent

I’m sorry if this question has already been asked. I was looking for something similar, but I didn’t find it. I’m new to postcrossing. People began to receive my postcards, but for the second time the recipient did not take a picture of the postcard. I have seen that other people sometimes do not have a photo in the received-sent postcards. I’m wondering why this is happening? Maybe the card is crumpled, spoiled? Or maybe the recipient didn’t like it? Why don’t they take photos of all the postcards they receive?

3 Likes

Not everyone cares for a wall with scans / photos. Not everybody has a scanner / smartphone / camera. Some are concerned because of copyright issuses. There are many reasons :slight_smile: I always upload all cards (sent and received), because I like to have them all uploaded.

8 Likes

And why didn’t you take photos of all the postcards you send?

7 Likes

Perhaps I misunderstand the rules of the site, but it seems to me that the recipient should take pictures of the postcard, not the sender.

1 Like

Hi Nina,

I’m fairly new to Postcrossing too. My understanding is that the sender usually uploads a picture when they send the card. Then when the receiver registers the card, the uploaded picture is there. If the sender does not upload the image, the sender can upload one if they want, but most do not.

Sometimes I remember, and sometimes I don’t. Probably about 6 times I have forgotten, and only once did someone do it for me. My bad!

Senders can upload the image anytime until the card is registered. After that, only the receiver can post the image.

If the image is uploaded, it is available for others to see and is part of the Gallery for the next few days. If not, it doesn’t get publicized, and no one can mark it for their Favorites.

Hope that clears it up. Welcome to the community!

Nancy

21 Likes

Nobody needs to take a picture. It’s optional for both - sender and receiver :slight_smile:

17 Likes