Thank You Postcrossing

When I found Postcrossing at the start of the COVID Pandemic it became my lifeline. Despite the slow pace of mail at that time it gave me a sense of connection and a sense of purpose. It created a sense of structure to the extra time at home.
I work as a Pharmacy Technician, which is an essential service, so our pharmacy split into two teams and worked rotating weeks. That way the pharmacy would never close if one team became ill. So it was off and on extremely stressful and extremely boring. Postcrossing allowed me to put that stress aside and forget about it while having amazing interactions with people all over the world.
I have never found such a diverse group of individuals who are so united in a desire to be kind and share a small snippet of their lives with a stranger. People get so many different things from Postcrossing. For some it’s all about the message and connection. Others are very interested in the statistics and countries they send to. Some enjoy collecting, many enjoy the philately side. The forum is even more diverse. It allows a person to engage in snail mail in literally any way you could think of. Games, creative writing, mail art, swaps, lotteries, school groups, the list goes on and on.
Postcrossing is a wonderful, beautiful community and overwhelmingly a kind one. The Postcrossing Project isn’t something I could have dreamed up and executed in a million years. But someone did and they shared it with us! Thank you @paulo and the Postcrossing Team!

135 Likes

I so agree! I found Postcrossing at the beginning of the pandemic as well. Postcrossing came just at the right time. I don’t send out much, but it has brought me so much happiness! Before Postcrossing I would collect postcards and I wouldnt have anyone to send them to and now I do!

2 Likes