Special edition stamps

Hi there, newbie here again! I’d like to send special stamps instead of the mundane boring ones, is this ok as long as they add up to the cost for postage? Thanks so much in advance. I believe it’s now £2.20 to post a postcard internationally from the UK.

5 Likes

Yes of course. I do this all the time. At the moment, I have a postcard downstairs to write, and it has a combination of 4 special stamps that add up to £2.20 on it.

3 Likes

I guess you can get the special ones cheaper too on eBay etc?

1 Like

Philatelink!

4 Likes

Hi @MartynHst43277
Welcome to Postcrossing - I hope that you have a lot of fun here.
It’s definitely OK to use more than one stamp to make up the value. I always use 2 x first class at the moment as they add up to the international value. I get my commemoratives from the Royal Mail website, but I know others on here use a website called Philatelink (www.philatelink.co.uk) to get them at a discount. I’m just a bit cautious about fakes.
Some friends of mine had ‘to pay’ on something they bought on the internet, which used fake barcoded first class stamps (boring definitives), so they are definitely around already.

As an aside - worldwide, people won’t have stamps with King Charles on them yet, so if these are the ones you can get hold of, many people would love them.

7 Likes

Suggest no - see my post above. Fakes are a real problem. And e-bay is a source of fake everything!
I believe Philatelink is OK though. But be careful, I think that there was a fake Philatelink website at one time (others in the UK group will chip in on this!) .

1 Like

eBay is a bit risky. Some will be genuine, others not. As @Seracker said, Philatelink is really good. I’ve been using them for years.

3 Likes

Can you get air mail stickers anywhere please so I don’t have to go through the post office every time. Thanks !!!