Special Collection Stamps UK

Hi
As a new Postcrosser I am still learning about all sorts of things postal and postcard related.

I would love to send my cards with nice stamps on and have seen some lovely ones on the Royal Mail website. To my absolute horror though, and somewhat ironically, unless I spend over £50 the cost to send them to me is £8!!

While I am aware I could bulk buy, as someone who isn’t doing direct swaps and to date have sent 6 cards and only received one, I don’t want to do that.

So my question is are there any other ways of buying online without the high delivery cost (special ones only) or do local post offices stock them? I am a key worker still going to work five days a week so could go to the one near work but as we are in lockdown I don’t want to go in unnecessarily, or have them look at me like I’m a weirdo for thinking they’d have them there.

Thanks in advance :smile: :love_letter:

Hi Sally, yes if you want to buy Commemoratives on the Royal Mail site you will have to pay postage for small orders. There are a number of ways to buy them without paying extra. The best way is to find a Post Office near you that stocks the new issues and sells them from day of issue, most local Post Offices don’t bother to stock them, so you need a town Post Office or crown Post Office in your local area that does, call them first to make sure they do stock new stamp issues. They tend to go quickly and many POs have no idea in advance what size stock they’ll get, doesn’t seem to be any science to it. When you know they’re getting new issues, get there on the day of issue at 9-00 am when they open that way you’re guaranteed to get them. 2 X First class will give you the £1-70 required for international postage to anywhere in the world for a postcard at today’s rates.
This years new issues are
14th Jan National Parks ( 10 x First class ) some offices may have a few left!
26th Jan UK a Celebration ( mini sheet of 4 stamps )
16th Feb Only Fools and Horses