Questions about UNESCO cards from new Postcrosser

Hello! I have been on Postcrossing for about 2 months now and love it. I am still learning about all of the different types of postcards that you can collect and send. I am curious but a little confused about what exactly UNESCO cards are. Are they a specific series of postcards by one publisher? Or are they any type of card that has a UNESCO World site on them? I would love to start collecting them either way. I just don’t know where to start. Where is the best place to purchase or start trading them?

If there is another topic on this forum that addresses this subject, feel free to let me know :slight_smile: Thank you so much in advance! -Becky from the USA

3 Likes

I’ve always assumed it was any postcard with a UNESCO World site on them, but I could be wrong. I don’t usually follow the specialized collectors forums to really know. I would guess the best place to get them would be at that location or museums.

3 Likes

I believe the general idea is this should be a viewcard showing a UNESCO site. Some are available with the UNESCO logo but not very many. I buy some whenever I visit a site and there are postcards available.

Since I happen to live in a city that has a UNESCO site, I could send you a card from Kraków to start your collection - let me know if you are interested :slight_smile:

2 Likes

That’s correct! :slight_smile: Some collectors only want photo postcards though and don’t collect illustrated world heritage sites. Mostly you can buy them when you visit the site or a close-by city.

When you want to start collecting them, you may want to have a look over here: https://community.postcrossing.com/t/list-of-unesco-world-heritage-postcard-collectors-moved-from-legacy-forum/21884 and “compete” with us. It’s just for fun, though - so no pressure :slight_smile: