Postcards from Qatar, Bahrain and UAE

I have just returned from a cruise to Qatar, Bahrain and UAE and wanted to share my experience of trying to find postcards and stamps in these countries. We had only one day in each port so time was limited and also we were on guided tours so didnt have much flexibility on places we visited.

Firstly Doha in Qatar
We found postcards in the Souk however the price was 15 Riyal each(approx £3.25 each.:hushed:) Despite attempts to haggle, which I admit I am not good at, the lowest price I could get was 2 cards for 20 Riyal(approx £4.30) so I walked away. At the only other shop I could find selling cards, I manged to get 2 cards for a more reasonable 10 Riyal(approx £1.10 each). The cards were standard cards.

I was unable to find any stamps and even our guide who lived locally did not know where these could be purchased. We also visited the Museum of Islamic Art and they had some art cards for 7 Riyal each(approx £1.50)

There was a shop in the souk selling world cup stamps in a presentation pack for about £150 and they had a postbox outside, although I’m not sure if it was just for display.

I bought these in a shop near the port. At first I thought they were stamps but then realised they were magnets😁 but I thought they were a nice World Cup souvenir and bought them anyway.

Bahrain

We had slightly more success in Manama . Again postcards were available in the Souk for a reasonable 300 fils each(approx £0.60 each.) The cards were good quality and some had a glossy effect.

Our tour bus stopped right outside the post office opposite the Souk. Unfortunately it closed at 2.00pm and we arrived at 2.05pm🙃 so we had to make do with taking some photos of the outside of the building.

I believe there was also a postal museum nearby but unfortunately as part of a tour we didn’t have enough time to look for this.

We also visited the Bahrain International Circuit Formula 1 track and I hoped they might have cards but unfortunately not.