Postcards for Grade 3

Dear Postcrossing community,

I have seen similar posts before, so I thought I’d give it a shot: I am looking for people who would like to send a postcard to my Grade 3 students (7-9 y/o) telling them about the cities and countries they live in.

I am a teacher at a school in Basel, Switzerland. In mid-August, my students and I will start our first unit of the year. We will learn about the unique identity of places. We will inquire into what makes a place unique, compare different places/countries regarding their features (cultural, geographical, etc.), and look at how the identity of a place can change over time. I want to prevent stereotyping (à la every German drinks beer and wears Lederhosen) by offering the students authentical sources for their inquiry.

Therefore, I am looking for people from all over the world who would like to send us a card including some of the following information:

• picture(s) of landmark(s)
  • local legends/stories about landmarks
  • Which things make your city/country in your eyes unique? What is special about it?
  • Which traditions and customs do people celebrate in your area?
  • Which stereotypes are there about your place? Are they true or not? What do you think where they originate?
  • What has changed in your city/country in the past years? (could be anything, such as traditions, buildings, etc.)

Of course, these are just some suggestions. If you would like to send us a card, any text or information, as long as it is (age-)appropriate, is more than welcome and would be deeply appreciated! As a little thank you, we will mail back a postcard from beautiful Basel. :blush:

Cards can be written in English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Dutch, Russian, and Arabic.

Please leave a comment below if you are interested in sending us a postcard or have any further questions or remarks.

Thank you so much in advance!

All the best and happy Postcrossing,
Tordis

16 Likes