PO Boxes and Postcrossing

Do you have a po box for your mail? If yes/If not, what is the reason?

I’ve started postcrossing as a hobby not too long ago. I don’t have a problem receiving my mail in my current address but back at my hometown my mail gets frequently lost/it never reaches me. I’m a student so I will move back there eventually that’s why I was thinking about getting a po box. What do you think? I’d love to hear your views on it.

3 Likes

The most important thing is to receive postcards and letters safely. It doesn’t matter if the address is “street address” or a post office box.

1 Like

I have considered a PO box for privacy reasons before but I can’t afford the £300-400 a year for it. Mail reaches my house with no issues, so I don’t need one for that reason either.

3 Likes

I purchased a PO box for my work, and have been using it for direct swaps as well, since it matters slightly less if I don’t check the mail for a few days. They’re relatively inexpensive here, though.

2 Likes

I have a PO Box but that’s because it’s how our entire small town receives mail - we’re too tiny for home delivery. It took a while to get used to but now I love it. I take a stroll every day to the post office to check my mail and if we’re out of town, our mail is safe inside the post office for our time away. If I was doing post crossing in another city and had home delivery, I don’t think I’d go and rent one - I’d just have the things mailed to my home.

3 Likes

Since 1987, I have used a post office box. I mail and collect my mail from there; also ship my packages. In the past, the letter carriers were quite careless with delivering mail to my house. Sometimes, with a good wind, my mail was in my neighbor’s driveway. Done with that…

3 Likes