Mint cards only?

Hi everyone, I couldn’t find a suitable topic to ask this under (please move if there is!)…

I’m a little confused about a profile I drew. I like to try and meet requests or interests if I can, so I’d like to make sure I understand.

The profile first says the user has “no card theme” and “likes to hear about a new person”.

But then a bit further down:
“my stamp collecting themes are flags,Europa and heads of state.In 2023,I am a 10 year member abd would love mint flag cards for this year only.”

Is their request to only send unwritten flag cards this year? Like in an envelope? :woman_shrugging: I’m rather new to this and English isn’t my first language so I’m thinking/hoping I’m misunderstanding?

3 Likes

Hey,
English is also not my first language, so it is just what I would think.

The user has ten years of experience, so she/he knows one can’t demand a special type of cards.
As you stated, the user normally does not have card wishes at all. So I guess it is meant this way:

Only in 2023 to celebrate 10 years of Postcrossing and to match the stamp collection they would love to get mint flag cards. So I think the word only refers to the year in this case and not to the postcards.

Hope that helps.

5 Likes

Thanks! But then… how does that work? You’re supposed to send a new/unused card in an envelope? With a separate note or something?

Hi all

I would think the same but it would immediately cause too much thought or stress to try and please recipients all the time. Like the ones that espouse “it’s about connecting” or “all cards welcome” then at the end of the profile state “no handmade cards, no envelopes, I want commemorative stamps, cards must only be 15 x 10cm” . WHAAAAT!?! How do you dissect a request like this and send a card they will like. Answer: you can’t.

So send something YOU like or something that matches their favorites write a lovely message and enjoy the experience.

PS… Your English is excellent!! :blush::blush::blush: