Is your country considering pulling back mail services? How do you feel?

Hi all! I’m interested in writing an article about the scaling back of mail services, and how people who use the mail system very frequently (like us!) feel about it. I recently started a job as a mail carrier, and it strikes me how little hand-written and international post that I see. I know this is sometimes a discussion on other parts of the forum, but I think it would be interesting to collate these sentiments in some way and I would rather have active consent to talk about your point of view in this thread than collate ideas from elsewhere.

In a little bit more information about me, I’m an anthropology student from the Netherlands and this sort of thing does really lie within my interests of how people communicate and relate to ‘technologies of the past’ (even though I don’t think sending mail is old fashioned!).

I’d love it if you could respond and say what you’ve heard your local mail service will do to international mail/home delivery, if you’ve noticed changes in your experiences with your mail service, and most importantly how you feel about it! Feel free to also give your opinion of how you would feel if home mail delivery/international mail would be suspended in your area. I’ll show you all what I write, and ask for explicit consent from you if I want to quote you (although everything will be anonymous). If you’d like to chat more in-depth and have an interview call/private thread of sorts, I’m also more than happy to listen!

We’re passionate about our mail and I want people to know that us mail senders still exist and we want to exist for as long as we can. Looking forward to your responses!! <3

13 Likes

Most people who appreciate mail have something to say about their experiences and their concerns for this issue, but I will leave it up to the members who know how to make a succinct and coherent response. I could write a huge, rambling essay about it.