Is sending a postcard with just normal stamps wrong?

I’m fairly new to postcrossing and so I don’t have a collection of fancy stamps. All I have is a massive page of normal plane old 1st class U.K. stamps because all the websites I look at to buy bulk of mixed value stamps with different pictures and patterns are sold out because of COVID they’ve not been able to get hold of any from auctions etc. I know a lot of people like interesting stamps, and obviously I would comply if I could but is it wrong just to use normal stamps, would people think I’m not making an effort because I’m not using interesting stamps?

11 Likes

Please use stamps that you have available and don’t feel bad. A request for a nice stamp is just a request. In the future when you can get your hands on special stamps, you can use these for Postcrossers who collect stamps. But it is not obligatory to use a fancy stamp.

24 Likes

No, it is not wrong! The only thing you need to take care of is to use the correct postage, be it the common or more fancier type of stamps… There isn’t any rules of which kind of stamps you should use. Many members mentions that they like prettier stamps and wishes more special ones, but at the end of the day it doesn’t matter and you should just use whatever you have. If somebody gets all upset about “wrong” stamps, then it is their problem, not yours.

13 Likes

Yeah, don’t sweat the stamps & remember some of us don’t have huge choices either. There’s quite a range of availability when you look at different countries postal systems & the stamps they issue.

The other thing people need to remember is that using more stamps or bigger/fancier ones often takes up more room on the postcard and I’m more interested in writing & receiving messages than I am about receiving special stamps.

I appreciate & admire many stamps I get or see on PC, but I’m not willing to have them take up too much space either.

11 Likes