Incomplete address

Hello fellow postcrossers,

I’m quite new to postcrossing and just got an address that seems to be incomplete - what would you suggest I should do? I couldn’t find anything in the help topics.

Thank you for your help! :slight_smile:
Dorothy

If you are unsure about an address, it is best to contact the Postcrossing team directly:

https://www.postcrossing.com/contact

Some countries for example do not use a postal code at all, if that is what you are worried about.

1 Like

What makes you think it is incomplete?
Just check their received card. If they have received card, it is probably correct address.

5 Likes

You might want to check out these two websites. Maybe they can help you figure out if the address is complete or not.

Universal Postal Union – Lets you see the correct address format in different countries. Go to “Postal Addressing Systems (PAS)”, select a country and download.
Informatica – Lets you do an address verification.

Sometimes the mail arrives with a delay due to imcomplete addresses. And maybe the member has changed their address recently.

5 Likes

I think postcrossing actually checks if the format of an address is correct before that person is able to receive any cards, but I’m not completely certain.

2 Likes

Thank you, I will do that!

It only has a first name, no surname. Also, the country and city/postcode seem to be mixed up. There is one received card though.

Thank, you that’s very helpful! :slight_smile:

It seems like the address was mixed up somehow.

In some countries, it’s ok to skip the surname.

Some countries write [Postal code] [City], while others write [City] [Postal code].

When it comes to Russia, the Russian postal service prefer this format:
[City]
Russian Federation
[Postal code]

4 Likes

Wow, ok, I didn’t know that! I just wondered how the mail delivery identifies the right person, when the address is xxxxstreet 8-40, with only the first name (like Sascha)? :thinking: