I'm a newbie and miscalculated the postage....what will happen?

I just mailed two postcards the other day, but realized today that when I looked up the postage it was in Euros rather than US dollars, so I inadvertently put insufficient postage on them. Will they be returned to me, or forwarded to the recipient? I am so sad that I messed up my first two!

5 Likes

I put the wrong postage on the first two cards I sent! I didn’t realize that the international post card rate was different from the domestic, so I just put a regular old stamp on them.

When I realized my mistake I panicked and sent extra cards with the right postage, and sent the recipients a message explaining. They were both extremely kind about it–and in the end all the postcards were delivered after all.

PS–Welcome!

3 Likes

Welcome to Postcrossing :grinning:
You put postage on them, so they will most likely be delivered. But why did you look up the postage from the Us in Euros? (If you don’t mind me asking) :thinking:

3 Likes

I would suggest that you just wait and see what happens. If the cards are registered, it’s fine. If they expire after 60 days of travelling, come back here and ask again.
In general it’s important to use the correct postage. Some people have to pay fines for cards arriving with not enough postage. If I receive a card that looks like the sender has been trying to cheat with postage deliberately, I report that sender to the support team. That happens rarely and deliberate cheating to me looks different than what happened to you. In case: if the support team contacts you because of the postage (not very likely to happen on your case, but you never know), you should send them a link to this topic and all will be fine as they will know what happened :slight_smile: