Help! Newbie in USA

Hello everyone! I am just getting started in postcrossing and would love some advice regarding how many stamps to have on hand and what values I should get? I would like to make a purchase on the USPS website soon, unless there is a better source?

Thank you so much for your time!

1 Like

It depends on how much you care about what stamps to put on the postcard. If your main concern is to maximize space, get the international forever stamps, since you will only need one per postcard.

If you also want to match other people’s preference for a variety of stamps, you can mix and match the other values.

For example:
One $1 stamp + one additional ounce stamp (.20)
Two forevers and a ten cent stamp
A two ounce stamp + 2 additional ounce stamps + one .05 stamp
Three domestic postcard stamps + one ten cent stamp + one 2 cent stamp

Also note that the stamp prices will go up after August so you’ll have to adjust for the $1.30 rate then.

Edit to add: If you have in your preferences to also send within the country, you will only need a domestic postcard stamp which is also considered a “forever”. It’s currently 36 cents, but will also go up after August to 40 cents.

6 Likes

I recommend that you get First Class Forever stamps (55 cents each) and 10 cent stamps (the red pears). Then you can use 2 Forever stamps + one 10 cent stamp to equal the current international postcard rate.

I personally like to have a wide variety of stamps on hand, because I know that I will use them eventually. I buy stamps online through USPS’s website or through the USPS ebay store (they used to let you used ebay coupons on stamps! and accumulate ebay bucks!). You can buy stamps off ebay for below face, but they’re usually older designs that I don’t care for, plus I don’t like to have to use glue.