Forgot postcard ID

Hi, I’m new to postcrossing, and more than a little forgetful. I sent two postcards out today without their postcard IDs, what is the protocol? Do I message the recipients immediately to let them know? Or do I allow an amount of time to pass first? Thanks for your advice!

3 Likes

Hello @KGPP777 :wave: and WELCOME​:tada:

I would contact the individuals you mailed a :love_letter: too ASAP and let them know.

It happens to the best of us😉

4 Likes

It’s happened to me. I just message them and let them know that I forgot to put the ID on the card and I tell them what it is. I think many of us have done that. This is normal. Enjoy Postcrossing! It’s a wonderful hobby.

2 Likes

Thank you both!

2 Likes

I did it once too, early in my Postcrossing career, and another time I forgot the stamp ( until I was about to put it in the mailbox and then grabbed it back!)

So I created a protocol for doing my cards. First, choose the card. Then put the stamp on it and then the address. Then put the ID in two locations. Then the date and weather. Only then do I write the card.

Haven’t had any problems since adopting this method

9 Likes

You should never message the recipiant because that spoils the surprise (see Postcrossing guidelines) I would wait some time. When a card arrives without an ID the recipiant can contact the postcrossing team to help find the ID. That works really well. If within a due amount of time the card still is not registered you can still message them.

6 Likes

I also think this, but the problem is, not all know about this, or don’t care.
I think even when one should not contact the receiver, there are exceptions when it’s ok.

Someone has contacted me when they forgot the id, I liked it, because when the card arrived, I already had the id. Also if it’s a common country card to a member who receives many cards, it’s not always easy to find the id.