Dymo labels for postcard ID?

Hello!

First time posting, so apologies if a) this question has already been dealt with, or b) I’m posting in the wrong place, or c) both of these are true.

I’m a newbie - sent two, received one, five travelling. I don’t have a label printing machine but I do have a dymo labeller (this kind of thing https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B000O78DZI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_bXibGbNJMS4HG?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1).

I thought it might be a good way of ensuring the postcard ID is readable, regardless of my handwriting, cancellations, weather or anything else.

Is this a thing that people do? Is there a problem with using embossed labels on postcards? It’d be great to know what people think.

Thanks!

I know a lot of people who print out the entire address including the Postcrossing ID on a label and affix it to the postcard. I suppose there’s nothing wrong with that.
I’ve also received several postcards with embossed stickers attached.
I do however caution you to write the ID somewhere else too just in case the label decides to fall out. Dymo labels are pretty resilient but postcards sometimes can take a beating during transit.
I would write the ID then put the label over it.

All in all it seems to be a great idea.

7 Likes

Thanks, that’s a good idea!

The idea is very good because the numbers are then written correctly.
And just paste over again. Then the Dymo strip also does not go off.

I tape over each ID number, tesa tape (clear tape) that is perfect. And also write the ID only once on the card.

1 Like

Moved to #postcrossing as this is a discussion regarding Postcrossing rather than postcards in general.

Knew I’d get it wrong. Thanks :slight_smile:

No problem at all. Welcome to the Forum. :wave:
You will probably receive more answers and feedbacks here in the General Topics section :wink:

1 Like

I use a rubber adjustable-number stamp for the ID. A label would be even clearer.

3 Likes

Blockquote[quote=“michiel071, post:8, topic:50245”]