Do you ever write postcards before you know who you are sending them to?

I’m a maxed-out newbie, but I have a stack of postcards to send out when I can. I just thought of something I want to explain about the place depicted on one of them. But since I haven’t received any cards yet, I don’t know if it’s better to personalize them somewhat. I’m thinking I might start writing my message, but then leave some blank space towards the bottom in case I decide to personalize it later. Do any of you guys start writing before you can send them?

3 Likes

No, I don’t write them before I have drawn a new address, BUT I do have bits saved about cards I regularly send. Stories or facts about a particular place I’ll use again along with any comments specific to that person or to mutual interests we might have - that can help you a bit with your postcard workload. You’ll enjoy it more over the long haul if you can make them more personalized as you have time.

The other thing you can do is not ask for an address until you actually have time to write & send it - lots of people do that as most people have busy lives eh? It’s okay to take your time. And remember this is supposed to be fun, so relax a bit & you’ll be fine.

6 Likes

I don’t start writing any postcards until I know to whom I’m writing. And I generally only pull addresses when I actually have a chunk of time available to write. This hobby isn’t a particularly efficient one and I don’t think it’s going to make it any better if I have postcards pre-written. It’s one of the few things where I enjoy the slowness of it all. Because the rest of my life is pretty much go-go-go.

Then again, everyone has their own way of writing postcards and you should do it with whatever way you feel most comfortable with.

14 Likes