**Closed for swapping** Question: Are there any collectors of Island Postcards out there?

Are there any collectors of island postcards/maxicards/QSL Radio cards/philatelic ephemera here? It’s kind of a rare-ish topic to be collecting. I’ve ‘met’ via PC only one other person! Rare breed! :grin:

Currently I’m uploading all of my cards onto one site which will take eons as I’ve been collecting since I was 4 years old (though the QSL cards are from my late fathers collection) and then via work & Travel. It will be a work in progress for months and months I think:

https://myislandsoftheworld.blogspot.com/

Sometimes - though rare to be sure - I have duplicates for trade. Let me know if there is an island that you are looking for and if I have a spare, I will let you know. Please contact me only via this email address (which I use for swapping cards):

bazzingaaa@protonmail.com

Best Regards

Sharon

7 Likes

What a wonderful collection idea!

I had a quick look at your blog and was excited to see Middleton Reef right up near the top of the list!

I visited Middleton reef in the early 1990s…and climbed on that wreck in the background of your top photo. We even found a message in a bottle left on that wreck! Great memories :heart:.

You were there just before I was in 1995! How awesome is that?? Wonderful memories indeed! Horrible storm the next day though…OMG…LOL xx

1 Like

That is cool! I’m going to have to ask my husband exactly when we were out there. It may have been close to 95. I gather the wreck has pretty much disintegrated by now. It was huge when we were there…and I remember being absolutely petrified climbing up through the inside of it! I was imagining it tipping right off the reef…with me in it! You could feel the vibration of the waves hitting it/the reef!!

I’m very keen to know where you found Middleton Reef postcards? On Lord Howe?