Christopher Arndt and AI

Christopher Arndt Postcard Co has begun using AI in their printed postcards, without any apparent disclosure of the fact. What does this mean? Let me begin with some backstory.

Christopher Arndt is a postcard designer who has used others’ photos (with permission) and graphics to create his merchandise. I’ve been an avid supporter of his for years, even exchanging emails with Christopher himself amicably over some feedback I had on a Texas map postcard design.

One of his latest releases, the cicada collection, do not use actual photos - instead opting for images generated by AI. (Save for the original “Cicadas Postcard” made prior to the adoption of AI)

What is AI “art”?
AI is trained through art taken from artists online without their consent. It generates the images based off text prompts the user inputs. With the current state of AI, I am personally against the use of these images for profit. I am a digital artist myself and sell stickers and other merchandise with my art online. To think someone could use my art without my permission, and sell the resulting designs, upsets me greatly.

The majority of online artists feel the same. However, even if you don’t mind AI art being sold, I also believe Christopher Arndt Postcard Co should disclose how these designs are made. Nowhere in their listings do they mention this.

I noticed the usage in the first place because AI struggles to recreate coherent letters, as seen on the cap of this hedgehog:

If you look through the details of the cicada collection as well, you will notice inconsistencies in patterns, objects merging unnaturally together, and other mistakes commonly made by AI.

The “Cicada Outdoor Concert Postcard” - some of the people in the background merge together, or are missing portions of their bodies. The left wing of the rightmost cicada disappears into the background, and I can’t make heads or tails of its legs.
Other AI designs feature much of the same.